Working in a National Park

photo credit: Lonely Planet

This past year has been a little crazy for me in terms of career searching. I had applied for a Disney Professional Internship which I unfortunately didn’t get (honestly though, I didn’t have half the experience others did). It turned out to be a blessing in disguise because I found a seasonal job in Yellowstone National Park!

The job is through Xanterra, but I’ll technically be working for the Yellowstone Co-Op Employee Recreation Program (YCERP). What all does this job entail?

  • Living IN Yellowstone (!!)
  • Leading trips for employees
  • Renting out equipment to employees

I know there is also the option to be a referee for sports, but I doubt I’ll do that as I know nothing about sports.

If you’re interested in working and LIVING IN (I’m sorry, I can’t get over that) a National Park but aren’t interested in outdoor recreation, Xanterra has so many other opportunities in pretty much every national park in the US. You can scroll through the options or just click on “entry level”. The entry level jobs are mostly housekeeping, food service, front desk, etc.

It’s such an awesome opportunity for those in between jobs, just graduated, or are looking for a summer job! Check it out here: Xanterra Careers

Leave a Reply

